HomeRatesTerms & ConditionsRouteOnline ReservationsInformationTravel PlannerNewsContact

The Inter-Island Ferry Authority was formed in 1997 in recognition of the need for improved transportation to island communities in southern Southeast Alaska. The Prince of Wales Island communities of Craig, Klawock, Thorne Bay and Coffman Cove joined in a coalition with Wrangell and Petersburg to create the IFA.  Hydaburg joined the group in 2010.  The IFA is a public corporation organized under Alaska's Municipal Port Authority Act and governed by a Board of Directors.  Visit our Board of Directors page to learn more about or contact our Directors.

The IFA development plan included both the Hollis-Ketchikan and Coffman Cove-Wrangell-Petersburg passenger/vehicle ferry routes. Alaska Department of Transportation support for both routes was received in 1998. Alaska's Congressional Delegation secured funding for the two planned IFA vessels. Beginning in January 2002, the M/V Prince of Wales or M/V STIKINE provided daily round-trip service between Hollis and Ketchikan and continues through today. The M/V STIKINE provided round-trip service from Coffman Cove to Wrangell and Petersburg during the summers of 2006, 2007 and 2008; this service is now on hold until further notice.

IFA ferries currently connect with vessels of the Alaska Marine Highway System at Ketchikan. For AMHS schedules and 
rates visit www.FerryAlaska.com.

See our "Frequently Asked Questions"  for more information.   

Copyright 2015 Alaska's Inter-Island Ferry Authority.  All Rights Reserved.
HomeScheduleRatesReservationsInformationTravel PlannerPhotosContactRoute

Sailing Times: Depart Hollis at 8:00am/Arrive Ketchikan at 11:00am & Depart Ketchikan at 3:30pm/Arrive Hollis at 6:30pm